Charter Day School Wins Big at Science Olympiad

Charter Day School students Ava Bazonski and Stephanie Guto show off their gold medals awarded for finishing first in the Science Olympiad JV “Battery Buggy” category. Charter Day School scored top ten rankings in fourteen separate events. This is the eighth year Charter Day School has competed in the Regional Science Olympiad held at The University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

Headmaster Laurie Benton commented, “We are so proud of all the hard work, skill, and creativity shown by our students! They will be the entrepreneurs and leaders of tomorrow!”

Here is a full list of results from Charter Day School with rankings in parenthesis:

Varsity :
Amazing Mechatronics (4th): Chris Sepulveda and Ryan Miller
Batter Buggy (8th): Cameron Dunmire
Boomilever (2nd): Bree Hall and Cole Byrd
Crimebusters (9th): Sophia Dettore
Duct Tape (6th): Wally Sevier and Dakota Oxendine
Ping Pong Parachute (8th): Alex Huber and Joelle Luhm
Potions and Poisons (9th): Sophia Dettore and Alex Huber
Solar Systems (3rd): Dale Dyer and Skye Lockhart

Amazing Mechatronics (2nd): Noah Barker
Battery Buggy (1st): Ava Bazonski and Stephanie Guto
Boomilever (2nd): Lindsay Butler and Claudia Dimitri
Fossils (3rd): Jacob Fleichhauer
Heredity (3rd): Lorelei Humphrey
Herpetology (2nd): Shelby Crowder and Leland Grevin

Charter Day School is one of four charter schools managed by The Roger Bacon Academy, Inc. founded in 1999 by education pioneer Baker Mitchell. The other schools include Douglass Academy in Wilmington, Columbus Charter School in Whiteville, and South Brunswick Charter School in Southport with a combined enrollment of over 2,100 students in K-8. All four are tuition-free, charter schools that welcome all students, regardless of income, ability, or address. To learn more or enroll online, please visit

Leave a Reply

Sorry, you can not to browse this website.

Because you are using an outdated version of MS Internet Explorer. For a better experience using websites, please upgrade to a modern web browser.

Mozilla Firefox Microsoft Internet Explorer Apple Safari Google Chrome